[Drabble] “May I …”

Kwon was shifting nervously in his seat. This was even more nerve-racking than his debut stage.
A pair of monolid-eyes, one that so familiar, staring intently at him.

“Does she know we are meeting up today?”

“N..No” Kwon tried his best to keep his voice calm, and collected. He wanted to show a mature and calm image today, even dressed up in suits.

“You didn’t tell her? I thought you couldn’t hide anything from her” A small smirk. Even that smirk was familiar, too. Kwon gulped slightly.

“I told her that I have an appointment”

“So, what do you want with me?”

“Ah… This…” Kwon cleared his voice. Heck, and he thought JYP was the scariest man alive. Putting a box on the table, Kwon slowly open it up.

On the opposite side of the table, eyebrows were raised.

Looking at the content of the box, Kwon felt a sense of pride, and happiness flowed in his heart. This is scary, yes, but he was never so sure about his decision on anything before, Kwon smiled and his voice was no longer shaky “May I ask for your daughter’s hand in marriage, Mr. Son?” The ring took him almost 3 weeks to prepare.

“Did she know about this?” The older man questioned the young lad in front of him stoically.

“I would like to ask for your blessing first”. ‘Even his impassive reaction was passed on to her’ Kwon thought.

“It’s rare for a guy to this these days. A traditional man huh? Do you think you’re ready for this?”

Kwon’s mouth curved up to a small smile “I am never more sure about anything else”

“From what I’ve heard, she’s your first and only woman up to now? Then how can you be so sure that you won’t find someone else later on?”

“The fact that she is my first and only woman until now.”

“Hm.. young kids are always full of promises that they will break. Are you sure she’ll be your only woman?”

“No. Sir” Kwon’s smile opened up a bit wider.

“Hm?” The older man was curious. This was not the first time they talked, but Kwon was always extra polite to him.

“I’m sure she won’t object sharing my attention with your future grand daughter. I know I won’t mind sharing hers with my son” The atmosphere was lighten up.

“Hahaha… Nice one, kid” He couldn’t keep his laughter in. This kid is definitely witty. “And if I say no?”

“I will still ask her” Kwon was serious.”But we would do our best to gain your approval and blessing. And we won’t stop until we get it”

“You kids are going out for a long time already. This is actually not unexpected.” Mr. Son was always a reasonable man “But what pushed you forward?”

“The fact that our relationship is not all pink and love. We did fight, and argue.” Kwon chuckled. “But it only made me realised that I need her by my side more than ever. That our fights and arguments were because of our worries and cares for each others. That I need to be her strength and support just as she be mine. And more importantly, I’m confident that I am the one who could bring her happiness and I’m sure that she’s the only one can bring mine.” He took a deep breath. He couldn’t imagine he would feel like this when she first took off his mongoose mask that night, but she had integrated so deeply into his life that without her, he’s sure he wouldn’t be able to live; exist maybe, but not live.

“Well, seems like I can’t scare you off anyway” Mr. Son let out a sigh. Tsk, he liked this kid anyways, seeing how his daughter was so happy ever since he came and his wife would nag his ears off if he dared to touch her beloved-jo-seobang.

• • •

A/N: Just a short drabble. Probably not the best one either. But I got inspiration from listening Marrying Your Daughter – Brian McKnight (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EcZJh_axDa0) shared by my friend. I don’t think I captured the ‘feel’ of a father-and-son-in-law talk that well, but … I guess i just miss AC >.<

One Response to [Drabble] “May I …”

  1. Love this so much! Love the talk between son-in-law and father -in-law!Jo kwon’s so lovable.

Leave a Reply

